Where are they now: The Bird is the Word

Sam Hardman, MRes 2013

Sam_blogI was lucky enough to spend one year in the Twiss lab from 2012-2013. During this time I spent an amazing (although very cold!) six weeks on a beach observing the behaviour of female grey seals in the wild.

The skills I learnt during my time in Durham have been particularly useful as I have gone on to study for a PhD in animal behaviour at Aberystwyth University in Wales, where I am trying to find out how urbanisation affects the behaviour of birds using great tits, zebra finches and canaries as study species. Thanks to a grant from the German Academic Exchange Service I have also been able to work in Germany at the Max Planck Institute for Ornithology, where I have learnt all about birds and bird behaviour from some of the best scientists in the field. You can read more about my current research here or follow me on Twitter @shardman87.

Although the species I study have changed, the time I spent in the Twiss lab was where I learnt the skills which I now use every day in my PhD, and where I realised that studying animal behaviour was the most fun and fascinating thing I could possibly do for a career!

Leave a Reply

