…and now for something a little different!!

Elana

Elana

Hi All As a new member of the team, I would like to take this opportunity to tell you a wee bit about myself, and why I am obsessed with Behavioural Ecology and wolves! I did my undergrad here at Durham where I had my very first Behaviour lecture in level 1, and I was immediately hooked from there on out, and thought, “yep, I’m definitely doing this for the rest of my life!” This lead to a complete obsession with the discipline of Behavioural Ecology and spending a lot of my free time researching literature on the subject for fun….yes, fun! This pastime of mine was taken to new extremes in my final year of undergrad, as not only did I get to tailor my degree more towards Behavioural Ecology, but I also got to write my final year literature review on wolves (Canis lupus), a species that has fascinated me for as long as I can remember. Wolves are the marmite of the animal kingdom, some people love them others hate them. To me, wolves have always been awe inspiring; the way they look, the way they hunt in packs, the way they raise young together, their adaptability to various environments, but more importantly, the way they communicate with each other. So, it was no surprise to my final year supervisor, that I conducted extensive research (and hardly had any social life…..) into wolf behaviour for my literature review. So much research in fact, that I was able to write a research proposal for my Masters, and it is that research that I am conducting now with Dr Sean Twiss! But, what is my research? In a nutshell, my research aims to unravel some of the complexities of facial signalling in wolves and domestic dogs (Canis lupus familiaris) using state-of-the-art video analyses techniques. It also aims to provide a means for humans to better understand the social and communicative behaviour of their canny canid companions! On that note, I will leave you with some pics of me and my dogs and my motto, but stay tuned for more folks as I embark (pun intended!) upon my journey of getting up close and personal with wolves and their domestic cousins.

“I canid get enough of canids”

WP_20150329_002 (2)

Leave a Reply

